Skip to content
AnimationSchools.Net

Stop-Motion Animation Degrees

Puppet, clay, object and cut-out animation filmed frame by frame. This list includes degrees dedicated to the specialization, degrees with an officially named pathway, and broader degrees in which it is a central verified component. Each card says which.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking — editorial selections are published separately under Top Schools. What we list

Alberta University of the Arts

Bachelor of Fine Arts – Studio Art, Animation concentration

BFABachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) – Studio Art, Animation concentration
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (Animation concentration) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 4 years, full-time
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Concordia University logo

Concordia University

Film Animation (BFA)

BFABachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
Location: Montréal, Quebec, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 3 to 4 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Ensemble scolaire Saint-Étienne

DNMADE Animation - Image & Narration

LicenceDiplôme national des métiers d'art et du design (DNMADE), mention Animation
Location: Cahors, Occitanie, France
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: bac+3
Teaching language: French
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Penryn, England, United Kingdom
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 3 years, or 4 years with placement or foundation year
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: GBP 10,050 per academic year · Home students — Full-time UK · 2027/28
Deadline: January 13, 2027 · September 2027
View program

Institut Sainte Geneviève

DNMADE Cinéma d'animation au service de la fiction

LicenceDiplôme national des métiers d'art et du design (DNMADE), mention Animation
Location: Paris, Île-de-France, France
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: French
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Institut Sainte Geneviève

DNMADE Cinéma d'animation au service du réel

LicenceDiplôme national des métiers d'art et du design (DNMADE), mention Animation
Location: Paris, Île-de-France, France
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: French
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Laguna College of Art + Design

BFA in Animation

BFABachelor of Fine Arts in Animation
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (Experimental Animation concentration) · Character Animation (Character Animation concentration) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 40,560 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate tuition 2026/27 · 2026/27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Lycée de l'image et du son d'Angoulême

DNMADE Animation - techniques traditionnelles et numériques

LicenceDiplôme national des métiers d'art et du design (DNMADE), mention Animation
Location: Angoulême, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France
Format: Format not verified · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 3 ans (6 semestres)
Teaching language: French
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Baltimore, MD
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 58,310 per academic year · All students · 2026-27
Deadline: February 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Location: London, England, United Kingdom
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full- or part-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 3 years full-time, 6 years part-time
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: GBP 10,050 (basis not stated by the school) · Home students — UK · 2027/28
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 48,090 per academic year · All students · 2026/27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: Animation Filmmaking (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 2 years full-time
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: GBP 15,950 per academic year · Home students · January 2027 intake
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (2D concentration) · Stop-Motion Animation (Stop Motion concentration)
Duration: 3 or 4 year options
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: GBP 10,050 per academic year · Home students — Home (full-time) · 2027/28
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

OCAD University

Experimental Animation

BFABachelor of Fine Art (Honours) (BFA) or Bachelor of Design (Honours) (BDes)
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 4 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 7,800 per academic year · Domestic students — Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) · 2026/2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Location: Rochester, NY
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: 2D Animation (Animation option (2D animation track) concentration) · 3D Animation (Animation option (3D animation track) concentration) · Stop-Motion Animation (Animation option (stop motion track) concentration) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 63,508 per academic year · All students · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Rochester, NY
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full- or part-time
Specializations: 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Two years of coursework and a third year focused on a thesis film
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Sheridan College logo

Sheridan College

Honours Bachelor of Animation

BachelorHonours Baccalaureate Degree
Location: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 4 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 10,362.18 (basis not stated by the school) · Domestic students — Canadian students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full- or part-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 3 years full-time or equivalent part-time
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: AUD 18,025 per academic year · Domestic students — First 2027 fee block on page with domestic selector · 2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

TAI Escuela Universitaria de Artes

Master's Degree in Audiovisual Animation Creation

Máster UniversitarioMáster en Creación de Animación Audiovisual
Location: Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid, Spain
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 1 academic year
Teaching language: Spanish
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full- or part-time
Specializations: 2D Animation (dedicated degree) · Stop-Motion Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: 3 years (4 with a work placement); part-time up to 6 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: GBP 9,790 per academic year · Home students — UK applicants · 2026/27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

What stop-motion animation covers

  • Puppet and model making
  • Set building and lighting
  • Frame-by-frame capture
  • Short films in physical techniques

This is a practical field: expect studio work, software use and collaborative projects. Software and equipment are recorded on each profile only where the school publishes them.

Dedicated degree, official pathway or broader degree

  • Dedicated degree (2): The degree itself is in this field.
  • Official pathway (5): An officially named concentration, pathway or major inside the degree.
  • Broader degree with animation (21): A broader degree in which animation is a central, verified component of the official title or curriculum.

A single module is never counted as a pathway or as substantial curriculum. One program can appear under several specializations; it is still one listing.

Admissions and portfolios

Stop-motion pathways commonly ask for making skills as well as drawing: models, props, sculpture or sample animation.

Requirements are recorded item by item on each program profile — required, optional, pathway-specific or explicitly not required. If a school does not publish its policy, we say so. Admissions and portfolio guide

By level: Bachelor's (23) · Master's (5)

Related specializations and guides