Skip to content
AnimationSchools.Net

Animation Schools in the United States

Verified animation degree programs in the United States, in any teaching language. Compare awards, specializations, teaching languages, formats and tuition in the original currency.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking — editorial selections are published separately under Top Schools. What we list

Coverage in this directory

50 verified programs at 31 schools (35 bachelor's, 15 master's, 0 phd; 1 teaching language recorded). Most recent verification: October 14, 2026.

These are real counts, not a claim of complete coverage: institutions are researched one by one from official pages, and programs we could not verify are not listed. How verification works

Location: San Francisco, CA
Format: Hybrid / online and campus optionsThe school offers an online format alongside on-campus study, or a regular mix of both. Check the attendance requirement: it is recorded separately.
Specializations: General Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 1,366 per credit · Domestic students · 2026-27
Deadline: August 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Location: San Francisco, CA
Format: Hybrid / online and campus optionsThe school offers an online format alongside on-campus study, or a regular mix of both. Check the attendance requirement: it is recorded separately.
Specializations: General Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 1,551 per credit · Domestic students · 2026-27
Deadline: August 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Location: San Francisco, CA
Format: Hybrid / online and campus optionsThe school offers an online format alongside on-campus study, or a regular mix of both. Check the attendance requirement: it is recorded separately.
Specializations: General Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 1,551 per credit · Domestic students · 2026-27
Deadline: August 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Animation (BFA)

BFABachelor of Fine Arts in Animation
Location: Provo, UT
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, 12+ credit hours per Fall/Winter semester; Latter-day Saint rate · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science (BS), Animation and Games Emphasis

BSBachelor of Science in Computer Science, Animation and Games Emphasis
Location: Provo, UT
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: Computer Animation (Animation and Games Emphasis concentration)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
California Institute of the Arts logo

California Institute of the Arts

BFA Character Animation

BFABachelor of Fine Arts - Character Animation
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: Character Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: four-year curriculum
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate (BFA) and graduate (MFA) programs · 2026-27
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · not labelled on page (deadlines dated December 2026 / January 2027)
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: four-year program
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate (BFA) and graduate (MFA) programs · 2026-27
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · not labelled on page (deadlines dated December 2026 / January 2027)
View program
California Institute of the Arts logo

California Institute of the Arts

MFA Experimental Animation

MFAMaster of Fine Arts - Experimental Animation
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: three-year residency
Teaching language: English
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate (BFA) and graduate (MFA) programs · 2026-27
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · not labelled on page (deadlines dated December 2026 / January 2027)
California State University, Long Beach logo

California State University, Long Beach

BFA in Art, Option in Animation

BFABachelor of Fine Arts in Art, Option in Animation
Location: Long Beach, CA
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (Option in Animation concentration)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 3,419 per semester · In-state — Undergraduate, full-time (7+ units), per semester; California resident · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Chapman University logo

Chapman University

Animation and Visual Effects (BFA)

BFAAnimation and Visual Effects (BFA)
Location: Orange, CA
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: 2D Animation (2D Animation concentration) · 3D Animation (3D Animation concentration) · Animation and VFX (Visual Effects concentration) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 34,995 per semester · All students — Undergraduate full-time rate (12-18 credits) · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
Location: Detroit, MI
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 55,950 per academic year · All students · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Chicago, IL
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: Animation and VFX (VFX concentration) · General Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: November 1, 2026 · Not stated on page
View program

DePaul University

Animation (BFA)

BFABachelor of Fine Arts
Location: Chicago, IL
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 48,180 per academic year · All students — Package rate, 12-18 credit hours, admit year 2026 · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Chicago, IL
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 1,003 per credit · All students — Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Animation (MFA)

MFAMaster of Fine Arts
Location: Chicago, IL
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Competitive full funding
Tuition: USD 1,003 per credit · All students — Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Location: Winter Park, FL
Format: Hybrid / online and campus optionsThe school offers an online format alongside on-campus study, or a regular mix of both. Check the attendance requirement: it is recorded separately.
Specializations: 3D Animation (dedicated degree) · Computer Animation (dedicated degree) · Character Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: Undergraduate programs can be completed in as little as 20 months; 27-month tracks share the same curriculum
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 68,500 entire program · Online students — Computer Animation online, program total
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Kansas City, MO
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 45,000 per academic year · All students · 2026-27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Laguna College of Art + Design

BFA in Animation

BFABachelor of Fine Arts in Animation
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Format: Format not verified
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (Experimental Animation concentration) · Character Animation (Character Animation concentration) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 40,560 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate tuition 2026/27 · 2026/27
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Baltimore, MD
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: USD 58,310 per academic year · All students · 2026-27
Deadline: February 1, 2027 · Fall 2027

Studying animation in United States

Animation in the United States is taught inside a decentralized system of institutions, so the same subject can sit under different degree titles and departments. Two federal checks sit behind a school: authorization by its state and accreditation by a recognized accrediting agency. International students additionally need a school certified under the Student and Exchange Visitor Program to study on an F or M visa.

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Rules and fees change; confirm on official pages.

Qualification structure

The U.S. government's student-visa guidance describes the levels you will meet in animation: at the undergraduate level an international student can earn an associate's or a bachelor's degree, and at graduate level a master's and/or a doctorate. It also names community colleges, described as two-year schools that can provide a pathway to a four-year degree, as a separate type of institution.

The pages reviewed for this profile do not set out a national curriculum or a national list of degree titles. What a program is called, what it contains and how long it takes are therefore set by the awarding institution, and each program page on this site is the place to confirm them. The same subject can appear as a dedicated animation degree, as a named pathway inside a film, art or computer-science degree, or as a broader degree with some animation coursework.

On this site those three cases are kept apart, and a single animation class does not make a program an animation degree. An associate's degree is labeled as an associate's degree and is not treated as a bachelor's.

Teaching languages

The federal sources reviewed do not state a language of instruction for degree programs, so this profile does not claim one. Language of instruction and the English-proficiency evidence a school accepts are set by the school and should be read from the official program and admissions pages.

For context, the Department of Homeland Security's student guidance treats English language training as its own program type, separate from degree study: a school can be certified as a stand-alone English language training institution or as one that offers such a program alongside other programs. Language preparation and an animation degree are therefore different things on a visa record.

Admissions context

The federal pages reviewed describe the immigration side of studying in the United States, not a national application system. Whether and how you are admitted, which materials are needed and which dates apply are decisions of each institution and belong to a specific intake.

For a full-time international student the sequence documented by the Department of Homeland Security begins with acceptance into a school certified under the Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP). The school's designated school official then issues a Form I-20, "Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status." You need that form before you can pay the mandatory I-901 SEVIS fee, and you are expected to have the original at your visa interview. The page also states that the I-20 lists the program start date, that you may enter up to 30 days before it, and that F-1 and M-1 student visas can be issued up to 365 days before the course start date.

The type of visa has to match the type of I-20: F-1 is described as for academic programs at a university, college or other academic institution, and M-1 for technical programs at a vocational or other recognized nonacademic institution.

Portfolio expectations

None of the federal sources reviewed describe portfolio or reel requirements, and this profile does not state typical piece counts, running times or prompts. Each school or department decides whether a portfolio, reel, sketchbook or other creative work is required, what it must contain and how it is submitted.

Follow the instructions on the official admissions page of each program. The portfolio and showreel guides on this site cover general preparation without school-specific quotas.

Tuition categories

Tuition and fees are set by each institution and are quoted in US dollars; this profile does not give amounts. Keep tuition, mandatory fees, equipment and software, and living costs as separate items, and note whether a quoted amount is per credit, per term or per year.

Two federal sources are relevant to funding. The Department of Homeland Security states that prospective F-1 or M-1 students must have the financial resources to cover tuition, books, living expenses and travel, and that the school's designated school official must collect evidence of this before issuing a Form I-20. Accepted evidence includes bank statements, sponsor documentation, financial aid letters, scholarship letters and an employer letter, though some schools set their own requirements.

The same page says international students are not eligible for U.S. government-funded financial aid, and the Federal Student Aid Handbook lists the F-1, F-2 and M-1 visas, and the J-1 and J-2 visas, among ineligible nonimmigrant categories. School-based aid and scholarships, where offered, are decided by each school.

Recognition considerations

The Federal Student Aid Handbook describes two separate checks that federal student-aid eligibility rests on. The first is state authorization: the state must authorize the institution by name to operate postsecondary programs and must have a process to review complaints about it. The second is accreditation: generally a school must be accredited or pre-accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency, meaning an agency the Department of Education has recognized under its regulations. The Handbook adds that the Department periodically publishes the list of recognized agencies.

It also distinguishes a school's primary accrediting agency, which is institution-wide, from programmatic accrediting agencies, which accredit only individual educational programs that prepare students for a profession, occupation or vocation. An animation program can sit inside an institutionally accredited school without any programmatic accreditation of its own, so the two should not be conflated.

These are Title IV (federal student aid) rules; they describe what the Handbook requires of schools, not a ranking of quality. Separately, international students on F or M visas can only attend a school certified under SEVP, and the Study in the States school search is the federal tool for checking that. The Department's accreditation database was not retrievable as text during review, so check accreditation directly with the agency or the Department.

Geography

The site organizes United States programs by state and the District of Columbia. The federal sources reviewed make the state relevant in one documented way: a school must be authorized by the state in which it operates, and the state must have a complaint-review process, to be eligible for federal student aid. Program pages show the state of the campus.

Official sources for this profile