Skip to content
AnimationSchools.Net

Animation Schools in Canada

Verified animation degree programs in Canada, in any teaching language. Compare awards, specializations, teaching languages, formats and tuition in the original currency.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking — editorial selections are published separately under Top Schools. What we list

Coverage in this directory

9 verified programs at 7 schools (8 bachelor's, 1 master's, 0 phd; 1 teaching language recorded). Most recent verification: October 14, 2026.

These are real counts, not a claim of complete coverage: institutions are researched one by one from official pages, and programs we could not verify are not listed. How verification works

Alberta University of the Arts

Bachelor of Fine Arts – Studio Art, Animation concentration

BFABachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) – Studio Art, Animation concentration
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (Animation concentration) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 4 years, full-time
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Concordia University logo

Concordia University

Film Animation (BFA)

BFABachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
Location: Montréal, Quebec, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 3 to 4 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (2D+ Experimental Animation concentration)
Duration: Four-year degree
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 7,068.50 per academic year · Domestic students — Domestic students · 2026-2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus.
Specializations: 3D Animation (3D Computer Animation concentration) · Computer Animation (3D Computer Animation concentration)
Duration: Four-year degree
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 7,068.50 per academic year · Domestic students — Domestic students · 2026-2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program

OCAD University

Experimental Animation

BFABachelor of Fine Art (Honours) (BFA) or Bachelor of Design (Honours) (BDes)
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 4 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 7,800 per academic year · Domestic students — Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) · 2026/2027
Deadline: January 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
Sheridan College logo

Sheridan College

Honours Bachelor of Animation

BachelorHonours Baccalaureate Degree
Location: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) · Stop-Motion Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 4 years
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 10,362.18 (basis not stated by the school) · Domestic students — Canadian students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Format: Hybrid / online and campus options · Low-residencyShort mandatory residencies combined with remote study. Not fully online. · Full- or part-time
Specializations: General Animation (broader degree with animation)
Duration: 2 years (5 semesters)
Teaching language: Not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: CAD 9,817.97 (basis not stated by the school) · Domestic students — Canadian students · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Location: Québec, Quebec, Canada
Format: On campusClasses, studios and productions meet in person on campus. · Full-time
Specializations: General Animation (dedicated degree) · 2D Animation (broader degree with animation) · 3D Animation (broader degree with animation) +1
Duration: 3 years (estimated)
Teaching language: French
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: Tuition not published
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Studying animation in Canada

Education in Canada is a provincial and territorial responsibility, so degree-granting authority, quality assurance and fee rules differ by province. Universities and colleges both grant credentials and animation is taught in each, but a college diploma and a university degree are different qualifications. International students need a letter of acceptance from a designated learning institution to apply for a study permit.

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Rules and fees change; confirm on official pages.

Qualification structure

The Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC) describes university degrees as offered at three consecutive levels: bachelor's degrees, which normally take three or four years of full-time study depending on the province and whether the program is general or specialized; master's degrees, typically two years after the bachelor's; and doctoral degrees, normally three to five years of further study and research plus a dissertation. CMEC also refers to the Canadian Degree Qualifications Framework for the degree levels in more detail.

Colleges and institutes are described as vocation-oriented. Diplomas are generally awarded for two- and three-year programs and certificates usually take up to one year, though CMEC notes that university degrees and applied degrees are offered in some colleges and institutes. In Quebec, the CEGEP (cégep) offers either a two-year academic program that is a prerequisite for university or a three-year technical program.

For animation, a college diploma and a university bachelor's degree can both exist in the same city and are different qualifications. The site labels each credential exactly as the institution does and does not treat a diploma or certificate as a degree. Credit systems and program length are set by each institution, so they are not comparable between provinces or with other countries.

Teaching languages

CMEC states that most Canadian institutions provide instruction in either English or French, and that others offer both official languages. Quebec is the province where French-language postsecondary study is concentrated.

The federal study-permit guidance adds that each post-secondary school has its own rules on how to apply, including the level of English or French you need to be accepted, and it points to resources on French-language study, among them an association of Francophone Canadian universities that lists university programs in French, English or both. Check the language of instruction, the language of assessment and the accepted proficiency evidence on the official program page.

Admissions context

There is no single national application system described in the sources reviewed: CMEC and the federal guidance both state that each province and territory is in charge of its own education system, and every school has its own application rules. One example of a provincial arrangement is Ontario, where the provincial government's college page says full-time students can apply to colleges through ontariocolleges.ca and part-time students apply directly to a college.

The federal guidance for international students gives this sequence. Apply to a post-secondary program at least a year in advance. The school sends a letter of acceptance if it admits you, and you need it for a study permit; for post-secondary students, the school is asked to confirm that the letter is valid. In most cases you also need a provincial or territorial attestation letter (PAL/TAL) from your school, which usually requires accepting the offer and paying tuition in part or in full; in Quebec the equivalent document is a Quebec Acceptance Certificate (Certificat d'acceptation du Québec, CAQ).

The letter must come from a designated learning institution (DLI), or the permit application will be refused. Ontario's page notes that as of 1 January 2026 most international students planning to study in Ontario must provide a PAL, and that some graduate degree programs at certain DLIs are exempt from the PAL/TAL requirement according to the federal DLI page. Dates belong to a specific intake and year.

Portfolio expectations

None of the Canadian sources reviewed set portfolio rules, and this profile does not state piece counts, formats or running times. Portfolio, reel, sketchbook, interview or timed-drawing requirements are decided by each institution and program, and a college program and a university program in the same field may ask for different things.

Use the instructions on the official admissions page for each program, and the portfolio guide on this site for general preparation principles.

Tuition categories

Tuition and fees are set by institutions and quoted in Canadian dollars; this profile does not give amounts. CMEC notes that government intervention in universities is generally limited to funding, fee structures and the introduction of new programs, and which fee category applies to you is decided by the institution.

The federal guidance tells applicants that their school can tell them about the cost to apply, tuition fees, health insurance, and rent and cost of living. These are separate items and are not merged on this site. Equipment and software are additional and vary by program.

Federal items for international students: the study permit carries a government fee, shown on the official study permit page as 150 Canadian dollars at the time of review, and applicants must show proof of funds to support themselves and any accompanying family members. The government states that it does not pay medical costs of foreign students and that coverage differs depending on where you live. Quoted fees are not interchangeable between provinces without checking the unit and what each school includes.

Recognition considerations

There is no national accrediting body described in the sources reviewed. CMEC defines a recognized postsecondary institution as a private or public institution given full authority to grant degrees, diplomas and other credentials by an act of the provincial or territorial legislature, or through a government-mandated quality assurance mechanism, and notes that universities are no longer the only degree-granting institutions in some provinces.

Ontario illustrates the provincial layer. The Postsecondary Education Quality Assessment Board (PEQAB), created under the Post-secondary Education Choice and Excellence Act, 2000, reviews applications and makes recommendations to the Minister. Ministerial consent is required to grant a degree, to provide or advertise a program leading to a degree conferred by someone inside or outside Ontario, and to use the term university in advertising. Ontario's public colleges are listed on the province's own page and described as offering degrees, diplomas, certificates and apprenticeships. A college diploma is therefore a different thing from a degree that carries ministerial consent. Other provinces have their own mechanisms; check the relevant ministry.

Being on the designated learning institution list is a separate requirement for a study permit. The federal guidance warns that provincial governments do not necessarily regulate private schools and tells applicants to confirm that a private school meets provincial requirements and is on the DLI list. The federal guidance also points to the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials (CICIC) for information on having past education assessed against Canadian standards.

Geography

The site organizes Canadian programs by province or territory. Both CMEC and the federal guidance state that each province and territory is in charge of its own education system, which is why degree-granting authority, quality assurance, fee rules and the PAL/TAL process are provincial. In Quebec a CAQ replaces the attestation letter, and French-language study is concentrated there. Ontario's college and degree-consent arrangements described above are one provincial example, not a national rule.

Official sources for this profile