Animation Schools in the United Kingdom
Verified animation degree programs in the United Kingdom, in any teaching language. Compare awards, specializations, teaching languages, formats and tuition in the original currency.
45 programs · page 1 of 3
Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking — editorial selections are published separately under Top Schools. What we list
Coverage in this directory
45 verified programs at 21 schools (25 bachelor's, 20 master's, 0 phd; 1 delivered online; 1 teaching language recorded). Most recent verification: October 14, 2026.
These are real counts, not a claim of complete coverage: institutions are researched one by one from official pages, and programs we could not verify are not listed. How verification works
BA (Hons) Computer Animation & Visual Effects
MSc Computer Animation & Visual Effects
3D Animation for Games and Film BA Honours
Norwich University of the Arts
Animation and Visual Effects BA (Hons)
Studying animation in United Kingdom
The United Kingdom has separate higher education systems in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, with one qualifications framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland and another for Scotland. Degrees are awarded by bodies with degree awarding powers, and animation appears under many degree titles. International students need a licensed student sponsor to study on a Student visa.
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Rules and fees change; confirm on official pages.
Qualification structure
The Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) describes the frameworks that set out the levels of higher education qualifications and the requirements for each: one framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland, the Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ), and a separate one for Scotland, the Framework for Qualifications of Higher Education Institutions in Scotland (FQHEIS). Both are published together. The second edition of that publication appeared in February 2024 and now includes descriptions of the four main degree outcome classifications for bachelor's degrees with honours.
In practice that means a UK degree title and level come from the awarding body's place in these frameworks, and the same subject can be reached through different award types. The site labels each qualification by the title the provider uses, and does not treat a foundation degree, a higher national certificate or diploma, or a certificate of higher education as a bachelor's degree.
UK credit is not interchangeable with ECTS or US credit, and the length and structure of a course are set by the awarding institution. The immigration rules add one practical distinction: a full-time course "at degree level or above" is treated differently from a course below degree level for the Student visa, including how long permission can be granted.
Teaching languages
Programs are taught in English. For the Student visa route the immigration rules require English at level B2 of the Common European Framework in all four components (reading, writing, speaking and listening) for a course at UK bachelor's degree level or above, and level B1 for a pre-sessional course or a course below bachelor's degree level. A pre-sessional English course can be combined with a degree-level course under one Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies in limited circumstances set out in the rules, for example where the pre-sessional lasts no longer than three months and the main course begins within a month of it ending.
Universities set their own English-language requirements for admission, which can differ from the visa minimum, so check the program page and the visa rules separately.
Admissions context
Full-time undergraduate applications generally go through UCAS. Its dates page for the 2027 entry cycle shows applications opening in May 2026 and completed applications being submittable from 1 September 2026. There are two "equal consideration" dates: 15 October 2026 for Oxford, Cambridge and most medicine, dentistry and veterinary courses, and 13 January 2027 for most other undergraduate courses, with 30 June 2027 as the date by which applications are sent on and 23 September 2027 as the final date. UCAS states that some courses have different deadlines and tells applicants to check the course listing to see which applies. A UCAS application allows five choices in total.
The UCAS dates page does not itself identify a separate art-and-design date, so this profile does not state one; confirm the date shown for each course. Postgraduate courses commonly use the provider's own application, and part-time study is applied for directly with the course provider according to UCAS.
For international students, the Student visa requires an offer from a licensed student sponsor. The rules require a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) issued no more than six months before the application date, and an entry-clearance application must be made no more than six months before the course start date; gov.uk gives the same earliest date. UCAS adds that many universities accept international applications later in the year.
Portfolio expectations
None of the sources reviewed set portfolio rules for UK animation courses, and this profile does not state piece counts or formats. UCAS tells applicants that each course and most universities and colleges have their own requirements, usually a mix of qualifications, subjects or exam grades, and that the course listing shows the details. Whether a portfolio, interview or other submission is needed, and how, is set by each university and sometimes by each course.
Check the entry-requirements section on the course page and the UCAS course listing, and use the portfolio and showreel guides on this site for general preparation principles.
Tuition categories
Fees are charged in pounds sterling and set by the provider. In England the Office for Students register records whether a provider can charge fees to undergraduate students and the statutory fee limit that applies. Which fee status applies to you is determined by the provider; this profile gives no tuition amounts, and Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have their own arrangements.
Government student finance for undergraduates in England includes a Tuition Fee Loan to help pay course fees, with eligibility depending on your course, previous study and your nationality or residency status. The gov.uk eligibility page notes that student finance is changing for courses starting on or after 1 January 2027 and directs applicants who have a different nationality or live outside the UK to its undergraduate student finance checker. Do not assume an international student is eligible.
On the visa side, gov.uk states the Student visa fee as 558 pounds to apply from outside the UK, and the immigration health surcharge is paid separately as part of the application. Applicants must show they have enough money to support themselves and pay for the course, and the amount varies with circumstances. Keep tuition, visa charges, surcharge, equipment and living costs separate.
Recognition considerations
The OfS Register is described by the regulator as the single authoritative reference for the regulatory status of English higher education providers. Each provider's page shows whether it is registered, other organisations its registration covers, trading names, whether it can charge fees to undergraduates and the statutory fee limit, any Teaching Excellence Framework rating, whether it can award degrees and at what level, whether it may use "university" in its name, and any specific conditions of registration. The OfS also maintains the list of English "recognised bodies", the providers authorised to award degrees.
Registration is voluntary. The OfS states that organisations may provide higher education without registering, but then cannot access the benefits of registration, and their students cannot access student loans from the Student Loans Company.
gov.uk's guidance on recognised UK degrees says not all colleges that teach degrees can award them, and the degree may be awarded by a different institution from the one where you study, so ask who the awarding body is. The check depends on where you study: England uses the OfS Register, Northern Ireland and Scotland use lists of recognised and listed bodies kept by their governments, and Wales has its own recognised-bodies list.
For international students, the provider must also be a licensed student sponsor. A course title does not show who awards the degree; confirm the awarding body on the program page.
Geography
The site organizes United Kingdom programs by England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The distinction is substantive in the sources: QAA publishes a separate qualifications framework for Scotland, gov.uk lists a different recognised-degree check for each nation, and student finance is organised nation by nation, with the gov.uk eligibility page pointing applicants from Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Crown Dependencies to their own bodies. The OfS Register covers England only.
Official sources for this profile
- Student visa, GOV.UK · accessed October 14, 2026
- Immigration Rules Appendix Student, GOV.UK · accessed October 14, 2026
- Student finance for undergraduates: Eligibility, GOV.UK · accessed October 14, 2026
- Check if your university or college can award a degree, GOV.UK · accessed October 14, 2026
- Guide to the OfS Register, Office for Students · accessed October 14, 2026
- Which providers register, Office for Students · accessed October 14, 2026
- Qualifications Frameworks, QAA · accessed October 14, 2026
- Applying to university, UCAS · accessed October 14, 2026
- Dates and deadlines for uni applications, UCAS · accessed October 14, 2026