Academy of Art University · United States · Bachelor's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Unreal Engine (Named in the core course ANM 105 Introduction to 3D Production A (Unreal).)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Online students use the Virtual Remote Lab (rLab) to reach campus computing systems.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Academy of Art University · United States · Master's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Maya (Named in the major course ANM 623 3D Modeling and Animation 1 (Maya).)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Online students use the Virtual Remote Lab (rLab) to reach campus computing systems.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Academy of Art University · United States · Master's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Maya (Named in the major course ANM 623 3D Modeling and Animation 1 (Maya).)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Online students use the Virtual Remote Lab (rLab) to reach campus computing systems.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Accademia di Belle Arti statale di Verona · Italy · Master's
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Labs equipped with VR/AR headsets, specialist software, motion tracking systems and digital production equipment (no products named).
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Alberta University of the Arts · Canada · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom Harmony Pro (Available in animation digital labs.), Maya (Available in animation digital labs.), Blender (Available in animation digital labs.), Adobe Creative Suite (Available in animation digital labs.), Storyboard Pro (Available in animation digital labs.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Arts University Bournemouth · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom Harmony (Listed among facilities available throughout studies.), Maya (Listed among facilities available throughout studies.), Dragonframe (Listed among facilities available throughout studies.), ZBrush (Listed among facilities available throughout studies.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Fees cover equipment and training; a personal laptop or tablet is optional and computers can be loaned from the Library.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Auckland University of Technology · New Zealand · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Industry-standard software is used in computer labs and digital video production spaces; no named software list was found on the page.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Ballyfermot College of Further Education · Ireland · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom Harmony (Installed in the purpose-built studios.), TVPaint (Installed in the purpose-built studios.), Adobe Creative Cloud (License issued to all registered students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Berlin School of Business and Innovation (BSBI) · Germany · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Industry-standard software (not named) (Students work on industry-standard software; no specific titles are named on the page.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Partnership with XP-PEN gives students on selected creative programmes access to drawing displays and pen tablets during their studies.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Bournemouth University · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Listed among industry-standard software in NCCA facilities.), Houdini (Listed among industry-standard software in NCCA facilities.), Unreal Engine (Listed among industry-standard software in NCCA facilities.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Bournemouth University · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Animation labs equipped with Maya, Houdini and Nuke.), Houdini (Animation labs equipped with Maya, Houdini and Nuke.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Brigham Young University · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Described as the main 3D software used in the animation program.)
- Provided by the school: SideFX Houdini (Installed on main animation lab computers.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Animation majors are required to own a Wacom Grip Pen stylus.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Main CG animation lab in the Talmage Building with Cintiq Pro computers and render machines.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
College for Creative Studies · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Provided by the school: Adobe Creative Cloud (Listed as required software provided through CCS to all registered students; the general recommendations apply to departments without their own listed requirement.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- General laptop recommendations: Apple MacBook Pro with M1 Pro or better and 32GB memory, or a Windows PC with 32GB memory and a supported NVIDIA or AMD graphics card.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Concordia University · Canada · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Film Animation students can access audio-visual equipment loans and computing labs.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Curtin University · Australia · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Digital labs, media production studios with real-time rendering, VR/AR equipment and high-performance computing systems.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
École supérieure d'art et de design d'Amiens (ÉSAD Amiens) - Waide Somme · France · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Adobe Animate (2D animation introduction is given on Animate in first year.), ZBrush (Digital sculpture with ZBrush is listed among first-year learning.), Unity (Second year includes the Unity game engine.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Annual enrolment fee is stated to include materials and software.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
ésaat Roubaix (École supérieure d'arts appliqués et du textile) · France · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: TV Paint (Dedicated animation software available to students.), Toon Boom (Dedicated animation software available to students.), Dragonframe (Stop-motion software available to students.), Adobe Creative Cloud (A licence for the Creative Cloud suite is assigned to students at the start of the year.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- One computer workstation with graphics tablet per person; light tables, peg-bars, line-tests and rostrum-camera installations.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Falmouth University · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Autodesk Maya (Industry aligned software available in the animation facilities.), Toon Boom (Industry aligned software available in the animation facilities.), TVPaint (Industry aligned software available in the animation facilities.), Dragonframe (Image capture software in the stop-motion studios.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF · Germany · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Analogue and digital animation studios, 2D/3D computer labs, render farm, compositing suites and a motion-capture studio are listed as available.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Full Sail University · United States · Bachelor's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Named as an industry-standard tool used in the program.)
- Provided by the school: Maxon ZBrush (Downloadable component of Project LaunchBox.), The Foundry Nuke (Downloadable 30-month license in Project LaunchBox.), Adobe Creative Cloud (Included in Project LaunchBox.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Project LaunchBox includes an MSI laptop with 3-year warranty and a Xencelabs medium pen tablet; some components are distributed in the second year.
- Xencelabs Medium Pen Tablet is part of the included package.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Hochschule Darmstadt · Germany · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Project room, workstations with industry standard software, a game lab with dev-kits, motion capturing and virtual reality equipment.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
ifs internationale filmschule köln · Germany · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Nuke (Listed among the software taught.), Maya (Listed among the software taught.), Houdini (Listed among the software taught.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Each student has a supported workstation with a powerful computer and industry-relevant programs, plus a render farm.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Institute of Art, Design + Technology, Dún Laoghaire · Ireland · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Other cost or requirement: EUR 750 per academic yearApproximate cost for materials and/or field trips of EUR 750-1000 per year (not tuition).
Sources on the program page.
JMC Academy · Australia · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom Harmony (Listed in the animation studios and facilities description.), Autodesk Maya (Listed among software students work with hands-on.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Access to Wacom and XP-Pen tablets in the animation studios.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Kansas City Art Institute · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Provided by the school: Adobe Creative Suite (Listed among the tools of the animation studios.), Cinema 4D (Listed among the tools of the animation studios.), Dragonframe (Listed among the tools of the animation studios.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Three-story animation building with dedicated studios for every student.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Kingston University · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Named among the industry tools students learn.), Nuke (Named among the industry tools students learn.), ZBrush (Named among the industry tools students learn.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
La Salle Campus Barcelona (Universitat Ramon Llull) · Spain · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Houdini (La Salle states it is a Houdini Certified School teaching Houdini.), Nuke (La Salle states it is a Certified Nuke Training Centre.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- IASlab is described as a space with an immersive room and VFX, VR, AR and acoustics laboratories.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Laguna College of Art + Design · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom Harmony (AN323 Digital Animation Skills.), TVPaint (AN323 Digital Animation Skills.), Autodesk Maya (AN250 CG Animation 1.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Maryland Institute College of Art · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Department uses industry standard computer hardware and software in the Brown Center.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Massachusetts College of Art and Design · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom (Available in the Über Kitchen student workspace.), Dragonframe (Available in the Über Kitchen student workspace.), Maya (Available in the Über Kitchen student workspace.), Adobe Suite (Available in the Über Kitchen student workspace.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Seven multimodal classrooms that also serve as computer labs, VFX studios, stop motion studios and a sound studio.
- Cameras, tripods, digital and analog animation equipment available for checkout in the Animation Cage.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Massey University · New Zealand · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Autodesk Maya (Named as software animation students have access to.), Lost Marble Moho Pro (Named as software animation students have access to.), Pixologic ZBrush (Named as software animation students have access to.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Massey University · New Zealand · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Autodesk Maya (Named as industry-standard software available to Honours students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Media Design School · New Zealand · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Required: Autodesk Suite (incl. Maya) (Listed as required software for the 3D Animation & Visual Effects programme; free one-year educational licence.), Nuke / Mari (Foundry) (Listed as required software; free one-year educational licence.), Adobe Creative Suite (Listed as required software and free for this course.), ZBrush (Listed as required software; approximately NZD 150 online, free on campus, applicable to year 2 technical direction.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Students need their own computer at home; a desktop PC capable of running Nuke, Maya, Adobe Creative Cloud, ZBrush and Mari is recommended.
- A Wacom-brand tablet is required as other brands are not compatible with the school's equipment.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Mediadesign Hochschule · Germany · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Named among the professional software students work with.), Adobe After Effects (Named among the professional software students work with.), Nuke (Named among the professional software students work with.), Houdini (Named among the professional software students work with.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Professional workstations and technology for 3D production, animation, film, editing and post-production are available at both campuses.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Middlesex University · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom Harmony (Listed among digital 2D tools studied.), Dragonframe (Listed among stop motion tools studied.), Cinema 4D (Listed among 3D computer animation tools studied.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Minneapolis College of Art and Design · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom Harmony (Introduction to Animation uses Toon Boom Harmony; Photoshop, Premiere and After Effects are also used.), Maya (3D animation courses use Maya.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Computer requirement: USD 2,000 one-timeMandatoryRequired MacBook purchase listed among one-time payments for new students.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
National Film and Television School · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Installed on Digital Animation Lab workstations.), Unreal Engine (Installed on Digital Animation Lab workstations.), Blender (Installed on Digital Animation Lab workstations.), Houdini (Installed on Digital Animation Lab workstations.), ZBrush (Installed on Digital Animation Lab workstations.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Workstations built on AMD Ryzen and Nvidia RTX technology, plus VR headsets and drawing tablets; production costs and equipment use included in tuition.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
National Film and Television School · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Each student has a desk area with a computer, Cintiq, camera rostrum set-up and software; own office in year two.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Norwich University of the Arts · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Motion capture technology and a Virtual Production Studio.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
OCAD University · Canada · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom Harmony (Introduced in second year.)
- Provided by the school: Adobe Creative Cloud (Licensed through the Laptop Program for undergraduate students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- All undergraduate students are expected to have a laptop, owned or purchased for school; laptop program fees are not included in the tuition amounts.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Otis College of Art and Design · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Named among animation software in the program learning outcomes.)
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom Harmony (Students receive complimentary annual desktop subscriptions available through graduation.), Toon Boom Storyboard Pro (Complimentary annual desktop subscriptions available through graduation.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Pratt Institute · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom (Installed on Apple computers in the computing facilities.), Nuke (Installed in the computing facilities.), Dragonframe (Installed in the computing facilities.), Adobe Creative Cloud (Available free to all Pratt students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Department laptop recommendation (not stated as mandatory) for BFA 2D Animation: Intel Core i5/i7 or Apple Silicon M2 or better, 16-32 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD; software Adobe Creative Suite, Toon Boom Harmony, After Effects.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Cintiq workstation, experimental and stop motion studios are shown among department facilities.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Pratt Institute · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Installed on computers in the computing facilities.), Houdini (Installed on computers in the computing facilities.), ZBrush (Installed on computers in the computing facilities.), Adobe Creative Cloud (Available free to all Pratt students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Department laptop recommendation (not stated as mandatory) for BFA or MFA 3D Animation and Motion Arts: Intel Core i9 / Ryzen 9 / Apple Silicon M2 Max or higher, 32-64 GB RAM, 1-2 TB SSD; software Adobe Creative Suite, Maya, Nuke, ZBrush.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- High-end computer lab, green screen studio and stop motion studio are shown among department facilities.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Pratt Institute · United States · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Installed in the computing facilities.), Houdini (Installed in the computing facilities.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Pulse College · Ireland · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Students must provide their own hard drive and over-ear headphones and demonstrate strong computer literacy.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Queensland University of Technology · Australia · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Maya (Named among tools students use.), ZBrush (Named among tools students use.), Unreal Engine (Named among tools students use.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Rhode Island School of Design · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Autodesk Maya (Installed on Apple workstations in FAV workspaces.), Adobe Production Suite (Installed on Apple workstations in FAV workspaces.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Students check out production equipment needed for class assignments on a per-project basis.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Ringling College of Art and Design · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Autodesk Maya (Listed among animation software on the college technology page; students receive notebooks loaded with software tailored to their program.), Maxon ZBrush (Listed among animation software on the college technology page.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- In their first year students receive a high-end notebook and a tablet loaded with software tailored to their program.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Rochester Institute of Technology · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: TVPaint (Listed among software in School of Film and Animation labs and classrooms (animation option).), Maya (Listed among software in School of Film and Animation labs and classrooms (animation option).), Toon Boom Harmony (Listed among software in School of Film and Animation labs and classrooms (animation option).), Dragonframe (Listed among software in School of Film and Animation labs and classrooms (animation option).), Adobe Creative Suite (Listed among software in School of Film and Animation labs and classrooms (animation option).)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Rochester Institute of Technology · United States · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Dedicated graduate lab equipped with industry-level software and access to 2D, 3D and stop-motion facilities.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design · United States · Bachelor's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom Harmony (Named for the 2D animation program.), Storyboard Pro (Named for the 2D animation program.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design · United States · Bachelor's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Named for the 3D animation program.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Rome University of Fine Arts (RUFA) · Italy · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Nuke (Compositing tools are studied with Nuke.), Maya (3D design tools are studied on Maya.), Toon Boom (Traditional and digital 2D animation is taught with Toon Boom.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
SAE University College · Australia · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Named industry-standard software for the course.), Unreal Engine 5 (Named industry-standard software for the course.), SideFX Houdini (Named industry-standard software for the course.), Blender (Named in the Foundations of Computer Graphics unit.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Savannah College of Art and Design · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Autodesk Maya (Listed among tools and software available to animation students.), ZBrush (Listed among tools and software available to animation students.), Dragonframe (Dragonframe stop motion software and dedicated stop motion stages.), Adobe Creative Cloud (Free for download for students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Wacom Cintiq displays listed among animation facilities.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
School of Visual Arts · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Autodesk Maya (Used in 3D animation pipeline courses.), Blender (Course on dimensional storytelling in Blender.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Departmental multicore render farm running Maya, Arnold, Nuke, After Effects and Houdini jobs.
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
School of Visual Arts · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Adobe Animate (Primary application in the animation curriculum.), Adobe After Effects (Primary application in the animation curriculum.), Toon Boom (Dedicated Toon Boom course.), Toon Boom Storyboard Pro (Used in storyboarding courses.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Swinburne University of Technology · Australia · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Workstations, an animation studio, pen displays, cameras and render farms are listed.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Technological University of the Shannon · Ireland · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom (Programme states it is a Toon Boom Centre of Excellence.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Technological University of the Shannon · Ireland · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom (Clonmel campus is described as a Toon Boom Centre of Excellence; Toon Boom 2D animation software knowledge is emphasised.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
The University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- No operating system preference; students are advised to consider a laptop, with desktop computers also available at ECA.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Students can loan digital and technical equipment for free through BookIt.
- Animation studios with stop-frame bays, multiplane setups, rostrum cameras, post-production workstations and a render farm.
- Students are expected to supply their own drawing materials; optional purchases advised include a laptop, pegbar and Wacom tablet.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Torrens University Australia · Australia · Bachelor's · Hybrid / online and campus options
Delivery is hybrid / online and campus options. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Provided by the school: Adobe Creative Cloud (Free Adobe Creative Cloud Pro licence for the duration of study and six months after graduation.), SideFX Houdini (Free access to the Houdini SideFX platform.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Ulster University · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Free student licences and open-source software are provided; students may need to buy individual student licences at a reduced cost.
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Universidad Europea · Spain · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Spine (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.), Toon Boom Harmony (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.), Maya (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.), ZBrush (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Professional tablets, current computers, a chroma room and a production stage are listed for the degree.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Universidad Europea · Spain · Bachelor's · Online
Delivery is online. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Provided by the school: Spine (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.), Toon Boom Harmony (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.), Maya (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.), ZBrush (Available through the MyLABs platform from any device.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Universidad Europea · Spain · Master's · Online
Delivery is online. Campus studios and equipment are listed below only where the school states them for this program; online students are not assumed to have access.
- Software
- Taught: Adobe After Effects (Named among the products used in the master.), Adobe Illustrator (Named among the products used in the master.), Blender (Named among the products used in the master.), Unreal Engine (Named among the products used in the master.), Houdini (Named among the products used in the master.), Cinema 4D (Named among the products used in the master.), Maya (Named among the products used in the master.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Universidad Europea · Spain · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Blender (Named among the tools used in the master.), Cinema 4D (Named among the tools used in the master.), After Effects (Named among the tools used in the master.), Unity (Named among the tools used in the master.), Unreal Engine (Named among the tools used in the master.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Wacom classrooms with Cintiq tablets, a render farm and editing studios are listed at Creative Campus.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Universitat de Barcelona · Spain · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Maya (Listed under software used.), ZBrush (Listed under software used.), Spine (Listed under software used.), Nuke (Listed under software used.), Autodesk MotionBuilder (Listed under software used.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue · Canada · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: ZBrush, 3ds Max, Maya, Nuke, Fusion (Industry software listed as used during the training.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Université Laval · Canada · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Optional purchase of a personal desktop computer; details on the program website.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Lab classroom with computers equipped with the necessary animation software and a 22-inch Huion graphics tablet; students admitted must pay lab access fees at first-session registration.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University for the Creative Arts · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Dragonframe (Capture software in the animation stop-motion studio.), Adobe Creative Suite (Installed on Macs in animation facilities.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of California, Los Angeles · United States · Master's
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Digital Animation Lab stations provide Adobe Suite, Maya, TV Paint, Toon Boom and more.), Dragonframe (Stop Motion Lab workstations have a license to Dragonframe.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Digital Animation Lab with 17 stations (Mac Studio computers and Wacom Cintiqs) for MFA research and production.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Central Florida · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Majors must have continual access to a computer; minimum specifications are published by the UCF Technology Product Center.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Central Florida · United States · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Majors must have continual access to a computer; minimum specifications are published by the UCF Technology Product Center.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Dundee · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Dedicated studio space, PC lab with industry standard animation and VFX software, 4K edit suites and green screen studio.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Dundee · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Labs with 3D software such as Maya and ZBrush.), ZBrush (Labs with 3D software such as Maya and ZBrush.), TV Paint (Labs with software such as TV Paint, Photoshop, and After Effects.), Adobe After Effects (Labs with software such as TV Paint, Photoshop, and After Effects.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Animation studios, green screen studio and drama studio.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Redlands, Los Angeles (formerly Woodbury University) · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Required: Adobe Creative Suite (Required software includes Microsoft Office and Adobe Creative Suite.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Windows laptop required by sophomore year; ideal configuration lists Intel Core i7/i9, 16-32GB RAM, 512GB SSD and Nvidia RTX 3070 or higher.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Computer labs with Macs, PCs and Cintiq drawing tablets; stop-motion stages with DSLR cameras and 3D printing.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of South Wales · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Computer requirement: GBP 1,000 one-timeIndustry-standard computers and software are available on campus; a high-performance Windows PC is recommended for extensive work from home (estimated cost 1,000 to 2,500 GBP).
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Traditional and digital 2D suites and stop motion fabrication suites, with 3D printing, laser cutting and model-making facilities.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of South Wales · United Kingdom · Master's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Adobe Creative Cloud (Software access on campus and via UniApps.), Autodesk Suite (Software access on campus and via UniApps.), TVPaint (Software access on campus and via UniApps.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Equipment loans include cameras, iPads, computers, lightboxes and Wacom tools.
- Dedicated animation floor with studios, high-spec PCs, Wacom Cintiq tablets, green screen, life drawing and motion capture rooms.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Southern California · United States · Bachelor's
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Animation & Digital Arts: no laptop requirement; recommended platform Windows, Config A - 3D Performance.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Southern California · United States · Master's
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Animation & Digital Arts: no laptop requirement; recommended platform Windows, Config A - 3D Performance.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Staffordshire · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Maya (Industry-standard software available to students.), Toon Boom Harmony (Industry-standard software available to students.), Adobe Animate (Industry-standard software available to students.), Dragonframe (Industry-standard software available to students.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Motion capture studio, virtual studio, HD cameras and LED lighting, stop motion rooms and a life drawing room.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of Technology Sydney · Australia · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Not published
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Facilities listed for the course include a production studio, media production facilities and computer labs.
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
University of the Arts London · United Kingdom · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Taught: Toon Boom Harmony (Named in the Character pathway exploratory unit.), Storyboard Pro (Named in the Character pathway exploratory unit.), Adobe After Effects (Named in the Character pathway exploratory unit.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- A laptop is listed as a recommended additional cost; not included in tuition fees.
- Software and render resources
- Not published
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.
Yoobee Colleges · New Zealand · Bachelor's · On campus
- Software
- Provided by the school: Toon Boom Harmony (Listed under software and equipment used; course-related cost covers software licensing for student use on campus.), Autodesk Maya (Listed under software and equipment used.), ZBrush (Listed under software and equipment used.), Unreal Engine (Listed under software and equipment used.)
- Computer and graphics hardware
- Not published
- Software and render resources
- Software subscription: NZD 361 per academic yearMandatoryCourse-related cost covering software licensing for student use on campus for one year.
- Studio access, loans and fees
- Not published
- Travel, residencies and other
- Not published
Sources on the program page.